Alumni Resources
Get Involved
Give Back

2016 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year

Ryan Squires (JD '04)

Ryan Squires

Ryan Squires (JD '04) announced as 2016 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year

Baylor Law School is honored to announce Ryan Squires (JD ’04) as the 2016 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year. Ryan is an outstanding alumnus and most-deserving recipient of this prestigious award.

Dean Brad Toben surprised Ryan with the award of Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year on May 3 at an Austin Baylor Lawyer Network Reception at Scott Douglass & McConnico. Ryan’s parents, Cynthia and Rod (JD '78) Squires, his wife Hillarey Squires and their children joined in the surprise announcement.

"It was quite a shock, to say the least," said Squires. "But it was very special to share that moment with my parents and my family. My wife, Hillarey, our three children, and my parents all walked into the room as Dean Toben unexpectedly presented the award. Hillarey and my parents were apparently in on the secret for over a week but wisely refrained from informing my children until they were in route to the event."

Ryan is a partner at Scott Douglass & McConnico in Austin. Ryan has taken many cases through final verdict as lead attorney on both sides of the docket, including jury trials, bench trials, and binding arbitrations. Ryan defends and prosecutes complex commercial cases. He defends lawyers all over the state in legal-malpractice and related claims. He brings claims on behalf of those who have suffered devastating personal injuries, and he defends personal-injury and product-liability cases.

For many years, Ryan has faithfully dedicated time and energy to the Baylor Law School. He served on the Executive Committee of the Baylor Law Alumni Association for three years. During his time on the Executive Committee, Ryan frequently came to Waco to speak to the entering classes at the New Student Orientation Luncheons. Ryan founded the Austin Baylor Lawyer Network (ABLN) in 2012, and he has served as the Chair of the ABLN ever since. He has been invaluable in the continued success of the Austin Baylor Lawyer Network. While at Baylor Law School, Ryan was a member of the National Trial Competition mock trial team, was the recipient of the Fraley & Fraley Mock Trial Award, and was the Executive Editor of the Baylor Law Review.

Over the past several years, Ryan has received many prestigious accolades. Ryan is the recipient of the Austin Young Lawyers Association's Outstanding Young Lawyer for 2013, and he received the President's Award of Merit for 2008-2009. Ryan has been named a Rising Star for the past six years. He is a Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation, Member of the Texas Trial Lawyers Association, Member of the Austin Bar Association, Member of the Austin Young Lawyers Association, Member of the Calvert Chapter of the American Inns of Court, and Coach of the University of Texas School of Law mock trial team. He is admitted to the State Bar of Texas, the United States Courts for the Western and Northern Districts of Texas and the United States Supreme Court.

Ryan is a deeply respected attorney, and a highly devoted husband and father. Ryan is a member of Good Shepard Episcopal Church in Austin.

"I am incredibly grateful, and I will be forever indebted to Baylor Law School," said Squires. "Not only did Baylor provide me with a top-notch legal education, allowing me to confidently begin my career at Scott, Douglass, & McConnico LLP; but it also provided me top-notch mentors (including my father and Steve McConnico - both Baylor lawyers) who continue to help shape my practice for the better. So I owe a lot to Baylor Law School and I will use this award as motivation to 'pay it forward.'"

"It is a true honor and privilege to award Ryan as the 2016 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year," said Dean Brad Toben. “Ryan has been a faithful servant leader to the Baylor Law School, and he has greatly succeeded in the practice of law. Ryan, a second generation Baylor Lawyer, has continued the family legacy of outstanding lawyering. His father, Rod Squires, graduated from Baylor Law School in 1978, and his sister, Caroline Squires Neerman, graduated from Baylor Law School in 2011."

Past Recipients
2015 Matthew C. Matheny

2014 Libby King

2013 Robert Little

2012 Vincent Allen

2011 Shannon Sedgwick Davis

2009 Keith Langston

2008 Bryan Hughes

2007 Christopher Martin

2006 Bryan Blevins

2005 Greg Jackson

2004 JoAl Cannon Sheridan

2003 Julie Springer

2002 Amos Mazzant

2001 Jim Dunnam

2000 Craig Eiland

1999 John Meredith

1998 Dan Malone

1997 Bill Jones

1996 Kirk Watson

1995 Priscilla Owen


The Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year Award is given to an outstanding alumnus/a who has brought honor and distinction to the Law School and to the legal profession. The recipient must not reach age 41 before Jan. 1 of the award year.

Baylor Law School will accept nominations for the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year through December 1, 2016. The Executive Committee of the Baylor Law Alumni Association will review a resume and the first three letters received for each nominee.

To submit a nomination for the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year, please send a nomination letter describing why the nominee meets the below criteria to:

Dean Brad Toben

Baylor Law School

One Bear Place #97288

Waco, Texas 76798

Recipients are selected based upon the following criteria:

  • Legal ability and achievements as a lawyer
  • Contributions to the legal profession
  • Standing in the profession
  • Christian character
  • Civic, religious, and other attainments
  • Active interest in Baylor Law School

Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved. Legal Disclosures.        Disclaimer