Baylor University

Society of Professional Journalists

The Society of Professional Journalists was founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi. The organization possesses a rich heritage that strives first to bring to journalism a dedication to service worthy of a great and honorable profession. Baylor SPJ Chapter members meet monthly to hear a speaker on a timely journalistic topic. Members also participate in service projects for the Department of Journalism & Media Arts.

"We are an organization devoted to protecting freedom of information and ethics among journalists. From print to public relations, from broadcast to photo, from online to radio, SPJ is a diverse group. We are just one chapter of our larger national organization, so we have resources and opportunities to connect you with other students and professionals from all over the country." -- Jenna DeWitt

Baylor's Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists meets at 6 p.m. on the first Tuesday of every month in Castellaw Communication Center, Room 245.

If you have any questions, please contact the faculty adviser, Dr. Sara Stone.

SPJ 2011-12 Officers

Caitlin Giddens
Vice President of Recruitment
Ashley Yeaman
Vice President Social Media
Linley Pisano
Public Relations Chair
Jenalee Alexander
Mallory Hisler
Ethics and FOI Chair
Grace Gaddy