Baylor > IFL > What We Do > For Faculty & Staff > Communio > 2010 Faculty Retreat

2010 Faculty Retreat

Communio, the 2010 retreat for faculty sponsored by the Institute, was held May 17-May 21 at Laity Lodge, a beautiful ecumenical retreat center located in the Hill Country west of San Antonio.

Designed for faculty completing their first few years at Baylor, the Communio offers the opportunity to reflect upon the Christian ideas and practices that animate shared aims at Baylor. One way it does so is by exploring the centrality of such theologically rich concepts as vocation. The notion of Christian calling is well grounded in Baylor's heritage and vision, and thinking about the nature of vocation allows the retreat's participants the flexibility to orient their mission-related purposes across the disciplines.

The retreat also offers faculty the chance to get to know one another. Given the University's size and the rigors of professional obligations, it is so easy not to become acquainted with colleagues who work in other disciplines across campus. Over the years, retreat participants have expressed gratitude for the occasion to know, cooperate with, and learn from colleagues they otherwise might not have met.

Retreat Leaders

Amy E. Black (B.A., Claremont McKenna College, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology) is associate professor of politics and international relations at Wheaton College. Black has wide research and teaching interests in the fields of American Politics and Political Behavior. Believing that practical experience is a great teacher, Dr. Black served as an American Political Science Association Congressional Fellow, working in the office of Rep. Melissa A. Hart during the 2000-2001 academic year. Her books include Of Little Faith: The Politics of George W. Bush's Faith Based Initiatives (2004) with co-authors Doug Koopman and David Ryden,  From Inspiration to Legislation: How an Idea Becomes a Bill (2007), and Beyond Left and Right: Helping Christians Make Sense of American Politics (2008).

David Lyle Jeffrey (B.A., Wheaton College, M.A., Ph.D., Princeton University) is Distinguished Professor of Literature and the Humanities at Baylor University. Among his books are By Things Seen: Reference and Recognition in Medieval Thought (1979); Chaucer and Scriptural Tradition (1984); English Spirituality in the Age of Wesley (1987); English Spirituality in the Age of Wyclif (1988); A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature (1992); People of the Book: Christian Identity and Literary Culture (1996); Rethinking the Future of the University (1999); Houses of the Interpreter: Reading Scripture, Reading Culture(2004); The Bible and the University (2007); and William Cowper: Selected Poetry and Prose (2007). He has on three occasions received the Conference on Christianity and Literature's Book of the Year Award. From 2001-2005 he served as senior vice-provost and then provost at Baylor.

Daniel J. Treier (B.A., Cedarville University, M.Div., Th.M., Grand Rapids Theological Seminary, Ph.D., Trinity Evangelical Divinity School) is associate professor of theology at Wheaton College. His scholarly interests focus on theology as the pursuit of "wisdom," and bridging the perceived gaps between theory and practice, academy and church, creation and redemption. In addition to editing numerous books, Dr. Treier is the author of Virtue and the Voice of God: Toward Theology as Wisdom (2006) and Introducing Theological Interpretation of Scripture: Recovering a Christian Practice (2008). His most recent work is a forthcoming volume on Ecclesiastes and Proverbs for the Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible.

Paul J. Wadell (B.A., Bellarmine College, M.Div., M.A., Catholic Theological Union, Ph.D., University of Notre Dame) is professor of religious studies at St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wisconsin. A specialist on the ethics of St. Thomas Aquinas, his work additionally focuses on friendship, the role of the virtues in the moral life, theology and literature, and the mission of the church in contemporary society. He is the author of seven books, including Friendship and the Moral Life (1989), The Primacy of Love: An Introduction to the Ethics of Thomas Aquinas (1992), Becoming Friends: Worship, Justice, and the Practice of Christian Friendship (2002), and Happiness and the Christian Moral Life: An Introduction to Christian Ethics (2007).