College Fellows

In the early spring of 2008, the Honors Residential College (HRC) established its College Fellows. As is the case with fellows of colleges in Oxford and Cambridge, these fellows commit to being involved in the life of the college by participating in lectures and other opportunities.

In addition, the HRC provides a venue for its fellows to share their research and teaching experiences together throughout the year in informal settings. While fellows are not obligated to any teaching duties within the college, the HRC serves as an intellectual home for fellows from diverse academic backgrounds.

Nominations for new fellows will be sought each spring. Fellows will be elected by the Board of Trustees.

Faculty Fellows:

  • Prof. Erich Baker, Assoc. Prof. of Computer Science
  • Prof. Lori Baker, Assoc. Prof. of Anthropology, Forensic Science, & Archaeology
  • Ms. Eileen M. Bentsen, Associate Librarian, Reference & Instruction
  • Prof. Cristian Bratu, Asst. Prof. of French & Italian
  • Prof. Bryan Brooks, Assoc. Prof. of Environmental Sciences
  • Prof. Todd Buras, Asst. Prof. of Philosophy
  • Prof. Darin Davis, Assistant Professor & Director, IFL, Philosophy Dept.
  • Prof. Tommye Lou Davis, Assoc. Dean of Honors College/Assoc. Prof. of Classics
  • Prof. Trent Dougherty, Asst. Professor of Philosophy
  • Prof. Jeffrey Fish, University Scholars Program
  • Prof. Timothy Heckenlively, Lecturer, Classics Dept.
  • Prof. Thomas S. Hibbs, Dean of the Honors College
  • Prof. Lynne Hinojosa, Asst. Professor of Literature, Honors Program
  • Prof. Victor Hinojosa, Assoc. Professor of Political Science, Honors Program
  • Prof. David Lyle Jeffrey, Honors Program
  • Prof. Theresa Kennedy, Asst. Prof. of French
  • Prof. Laurel Medhurst, Lecturer, English Dept.
  • Prof. Martin Medhurst, Distinguished Professor, Rhetoric & Communication
  • Prof. Robert Miner, Assoc. Professor of Philosophy, Great Texts Program
  • Prof. Michael Morrison, Director of Center for International Education
  • Prof. K. Sarah-Jane Murray, Great Texts Program
  • Prof. Wesley Null, Fac. Asst. Dir. of Honors Program/Assoc. Prof. of Education
  • Prof. Pattie Orr, Vice President for Information Technology/Dean of Libraries
  • Prof. Jerry Park, Asst. Prof. of Sociology
  • Prof. Richard Russell, Assoc. Prof. of English
  • Prof. Martha Lou Scott, Associate Vice President for Student Life
  • Prof. Rishi Sriram, Visiting Instructor & Program Coordinator Higher Ed. & Student Affairs
  • Prof. Gabrielle Sutherland, Lecturer, History Dept.
  • Prof. William Weaver, Great Texts Program
  • Prof. Ralph Wood, University Prof. of Theology & Literature
  • Prof. Lenore Wright, Baylor Interdisciplinary Core

Staff Fellows:

  • Mr. Matt Burchett, Director of Student Activities
  • Dr. Burt L. Burleson, University Chaplain for Student Life-Spiritual Life
  • Ms. Petra Carey, Coord. of Summer Programs, Comm., & Ex. Rel. for Honors College
  • Ms. Lara Conrad, Assistant Director for Resident Learning, Living-Learning Programs
  • Mr. Chris Holmes, Assistant General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel
  • Ms. Lori Johnson, Catering & Special Events Manager
  • Mr. Kyle Knas, Special Assistant to the President & Dean
  • Mr. Robbie Rogers, Dir. of Baylor Photography
  • Ms. Susan Wommack, Gift Planning Attorney, University Development.

Graduate Fellows:

  • Mr. Craig R. Clarkson, Doctoral Candidate, Religion
  • Mr. Luke Mitchell, Masters Candidate, English
  • Mr. Michael Milburn, Doctoral Candidate, English
  • Ms. Christine Pyle, Doctoral Candidate, English
  • Ms. Catherine Mathie, Doctoral Candidate, Political Science
  • Mr. David Wilmington, Doctoral Candidate, Religion

Honorary Fellows:

  • Dr. Ted Baehr is an American media critic and chairman of The Christian Film and Television Commission. He publishes MOVIEGUIDE, a Web site and biweekly journal that evaluates motion pictures and other entertainment products from a conservative Christian perspective on suitability for family consumption. His life�s purpose is to be used of God to redeem to values of the media while educating audiences on how to use discernment in selecting their entertainment.

  • Professor Anthony Esolen teaches Renaissance English Literature and the Development of Western Civilization at Providence College. Dr. Esolen has also published articles on Spenser, Shakespeare, Dante, and Tasso, and is a contributing editor of the theological journal Touchstone.

  • Professor Anthony Grafton, Henry Putnam University Professor of History and the chair of the Council of the Humanities at Princeton University. His special interests lie in the cultural history of Renaissance Europe, the history of books and readers, the history of scholarship and education in the West from Antiquity to the 19th century, and the history of science from Antiquity to the Renaissance. He joined the Princeton History Department in 1975 after earning his A.B. (1971) and Ph.D. (1975) in history from the University of Chicago and spending a year at University College London, where he studied with Arnaldo Momigliano. He has been the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship (1989), the Los Angeles Times Book Prize (1993), the Balzan Prize for History of Humanities (2002), and the Mellon Foundation's Distinguished Achievement Award (2003).
  • Mr. Jorge F. Hernandez, editor of Sun, Stone, and Shadows: 20 Great Mexican Short Stories. This anthology presents a collection of twenty stories of extraordinary quality, written by the finest Mexican authors born during the first half of the twentieth century. Mr. Hernandez is currently a tutor of creative writing at the Fundación para Las Letras Mexicanas, A.C.
  • Michael D. O'Brien, born in Ottawa, Canada, in 1948, is a painter and writer. He has worked as a professional artist since 1970, when he had his first one-man exhibit at a major gallery in Ottawa, followed by numerous exhibits across North America during the ensuing 40 years. Since 1976, he has painted religious imagery exclusively, a field that ranges from liturgical commissions to visual reflections on the meaning of the human person. His paintings hang in churches, monasteries, universities, community collections, and private collections in the United States, Canada, England, Germany, Italy, Australia, and Africa.
  • Professor Rupert T. Pickens, Division of French & Italian at the University of Kentucky, is one of the most significant scholars in Old French Studies in the United States today.
  • Mr. Sam Weller, American journalist and author, best known for his 2005 book The Bradbury Chronicles: The Life of Ray Bradbury. Mr. Weller is also a full-time professor of creative writing at Columbia College Chicago.

  • Dr. Logan Whalen, associate professor of French at the University of Oklahoma, serves as the president of the International Marie de France Society, and secretary of the International Arthurian Society. He has written many articles and a book on Marie de France, as well as edited several volumes dedicated to exploring the emergence of vernacular traditions in the medieval West. His secondary interests include Chrétien de Troyes, Dante, the troubadours, and representations of animals in bestiary manuscripts.
  • Prof. Monica L. Wright is assistant professor of French and Francophone Studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Her research centers on the use of textiles and clothing in medieval French romance.