## Baylor Faculty Providing Leadership Regionally and Nationally January 31, 2017

Baylor University faculty provide leadership and service to major scholarly and professional organizations in our region and nationally. This includes prestigious national societies as well as organizations that are crucial to sustaining and advancing work across the disciplines and schools represented at Baylor. Such service and leadership highlights our faculty's commitment and is a sign of their exceptional quality. Below is an alphabetical sampling of leadership positions held by Baylor faculty and deans:

**Charles Baylis:** Region 5 Coordinator, IEEE Microwave Theory & Techniques Society; Chair of the Executive Committee, Texas Symposium on Wireless & Microwave Circuits & Systems

**Claudia Beal:** Member, American Heart Association/American Stroke Association Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing

**Maria Boccia:** Membership Outreach Committee Member, The International Society for the Study of Women's Sexual Health

**William A. Booth:** President, Association for Computer Educators in Texas **Dick Campbell:** Vice Chair of the Board of Directors, Mission Waco/Mission World **Christina Chan-Park:** Chair, Waco-McLennan County Library Commission

**Shelley Conroy:** President, The Texas Association of Deans and Directors of Professional Nursing Programs; Trustee, Baylor University Medical Center

Elizabeth Corey: Board Member, The Institute on Religion & Public Life

**Clayton Crenshaw:** Vice Chair/Chair Elect, Texas Chapter of the Music Library Association **Debbie Davendonis-Todd:** Executive Committee Member, Association of Centers for the Study of Congress; Vice Chair/Chair-Elect, Society of American Archivists - Congressional Papers Roundtable

**Shelby Garner:** Health Science Division Chair, Council on Undergraduate Research **Beverly Gaventa:** President, The Society of Biblical Literature

**Pete Grandjean:** President, Texas Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine **Barry Harvey:** Emeritus Member of the Board of Directors (English Section: U.S., U.K., Canada, South Africa, and Australia), International Bonhoeffer Society; Chair of the

Research Grant Committee, International Bonhoeffer Society

**Marie Hastings-Tolsma:** Chair of the Disciplinary Committee, The American Midwifery Certification Board

**Douglas Henry:** Faculty Mentor, Ninth Cohort of the Lilly Graduate Fellows Program **Laura Hernández:** Latina Commissioner, The Hispanic National Bar Association

**Thomas Hibbs:** President, The American Catholic Philosophical Association **Kathy Hillman:** Board Member, Keston Council, Oxford, UK

Bill Jordan: Founding Vice President, Christian Engineering Society

**Ben Kelley:** Quality Coordinator for the Accreditation Activities Committee, The Biomedical Engineering Society

**Beth Lanning**: Chairman of the Health and Education Advisory Committee, The Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship International

**Terry Maness:** Board Member, The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business **Kelli McMahan:** President, Wilderness Education Association

**Elizabeth Miller:** Joint Editorial Board Member, National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

**Sarah-Jane Murray:** Co-Chair for Film, Media, and Story, Nexus Global Summit; National Advisory Board Member, 4word

**Byron Newberry:** Executive Board Member, National Institute for Engineering Ethics; Steering Committee Member, Forum on Philosophy, Engineering & Technology

**Linda Olafsen:** Chair of the MRS Bulletin Book Review Committee, The Materials Research Society; Chair of the Committee of Examiners, The Graduate Record Examination in Physics **Pattie Orr:** Board Member, The Lonestar Education and Research Network; Chair, Brazos

Valley Public Broadcasting Foundation; Member of Hawkins Leadership Council, EDUCAUSE

**Elizabeth Perry:** Board of Directors Member, Lovebound International **Billie Peterson-Lugo**: Board Member, Texas ETD Association

**Stacie Petter:** Region 1 (North and South America) Representative, The Association for Information Systems Council; Chair of the Executive Committee, Americas Conference on Information Systems

**Cheryl Riley:** Member of the Nominations Committee, The National Association of Neonatal Nurses

**Lori Spies:** Advanced Practice Nursing Council Member, The International Council of Nurses

**Todd Still:** Assistant Secretary, The Society of New Testament Studies; Director, The Southwest Commission on Religious Studies

**Leah Teague:** Women's Network Executive Council Member, The American Council on Education

**Ken Van Treuren:** Chair, ASME International Gas Turbine Institute Wind Energy Committee; Chair, ASEE Mechanical Engineering Division; Associate Editor, The Journal of the Global Propulsion & Power Society

**Renee Umstattd-Meyer:** Incoming President, The American Academy of Health Behavior **James Wren:** Member, National Board of Trial Advocacy; Member, The American Bar Association Standing Committee on Specialization