Baylor > HOTRHF Home > Winners & Press Releases > WINNERS of the HOTRHF Ruben Santos Memorial Scholarship Award

WINNERS of the HOTRHF Ruben Santos Memorial Scholarship Award

The Ruben Santos Memorial Scholarship honors the longtime director of the Heart of Texas Regional History Fair. Ruben Santos served for thirty-five years as director of the Bill Daniel Student Center here at Baylor, and also served the city of Waco as a member of the city council and a term as mayor. For much of that time, Ruben was also the director of the history fair, a volunteer position in which he worked tirelessly to develop, promote, and organize our fair. Ruben Santos died in March 2008, and this scholarship award honors his memory and our indebtedness to his service.

Students in their junior or senior year of high school who have qualified for entry in any category of HOTRHF may apply for this award. This award provides $1,000 tuition to Baylor University.

Previous winners of the Ruben Santos Memorial Scholarship Award:

1998 Hector Sabido University High School
1999 Nina Hathi Robinson High School
2000 Hollis Henley A. J. Moore Academy
2000 Cherise Wesley A.J. Moore Academy
2003 Brittany Anderson A.J. Moore Academy
2004 Belinda Herrera University High School
2005 Stevie Walker-Webb A.J. Moore Academy
2009 Kaitlyn Wooley Riesel High School
2010 Jennifer Clendening Riesel High School
2011 Alan Hoeft Riesel High School
2012 Thomas A. Pendleton Waco High School
2013 Reed Cooper Waco High School
2014 Noah Jones Riesel High School
2015 Abigail Garner Waco High School