Faculty/Staff

The faculty and staff in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders offer a wealth of expertise combined with real world experience. They bring to the classroom and clinic an extensive knowledge base and are dedicated to keeping pace with the latest trends and innovations. The faculty and staff takes pride in quality teaching and providing support to our students.

Academic Faculty

Michaela Ritter, Ed.D.
Interim Chair
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ed.D., Baylor University
Email: Michaela_ Ritter@baylor.edu

Paul Blanchet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., Louisiana State University
Email: Paul_Blanchet@baylor.edu

Paul Fillmore, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
Email: Paul_Fillmore@baylor.edu

J. David Garrett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Email: David_Garrett@baylor.edu

Jungjun Park, Ph.D.
Graduate Program Director
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of Florida
Email: Jungjun_Park@baylor.edu

Kathy A. Whipple, Ph.D.
Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of Memphis
Email: Kathy_Whipple@baylor.edu

Clinical Academic Faculty

Carrie Drew, Au.D.
Lecturer, Audiologist, Clinical Supervisor
Au.D. A.T. Still University of Health Sciences
Email: Carrie_Drew@baylor.edu

Jana Parker, M.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Jana_Parker@baylor.edu

Donna Powell, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Donna_Powell@baylor.edu

Deborah Rainer, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Coordinator
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Deborah_Rainer@baylor.edu

Hollie Sammons, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., University of Texas at Dallas
Email: Hollie_Sammons@baylor.edu

Susan Sherman, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., University of Wyoming
Email: Susan_Sherman@baylor.edu

Janice Stewart, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Janice_Stewart@baylor.edu

Nadine Welch, M.S.
Clinical Assistant Professor, Speech-Language Pathologist
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Nadine_Welch@baylor.edu

Sign Language / Deaf Education Faculty

Lori Wrzesinski, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Director of Deaf Education and ASL
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Lori_Wrzesinski@baylor.edu

Lewis Lummer, Ed.D.
Senior Lecturer in American Sign Language and Deaf Education
Ed.D., Northern Illinois University
Email: Lewis_Lummer@baylor.edu

Marnie Abrahams, M.A.
Lecturer in American Sign Language
M.A., Hardin Simmons University
Email: Marnie_Abrahams@baylor.edu

Language and Literacy Faculty

Edwina Nelson
Senior Lecturer, Reading Specialist
M.A., Dallas Baptist University
Email: Edwina_Nelson@baylor.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Joey Bartlett, M.S.
Part-Time Lecturer in American Sign Language
M.S., Lamar Univeristy
Email: Joey_Bartlett@baylor.edu

Kathy Bartlett, B.A.
Part-Time Lecturer in American Sign Language
B.A., Baylor University
Email: Kathy_Bartlett@baylor.edu

Melony Cannon, M.S.
Part-Time Clinical Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., Radford University
Email: Melony_Cannon@baylor.edu

Brad Holland, M.D.
Part-Time Clinical Instructor
M.D., UT Southwestern Medical School at Dallas
Email: Brad_Holland@baylor.edu

Janet Sanker, M.A.
Part-Time Clinical Instructor
M.A., Indiana University
Email: Janet_Sanker@baylor.edu

Angela Taylor, M.A.
Part-Time Instructor in American Sign Language
M.A., Gallaudut University
Email: Angela_Taylor@baylor.edu

Deborah Zembo, M.Ed.
Part-Time Instructor in American Sign Language
M.Ed., Texas State University
Email: Deborah_Zembo@baylor.edu

Psychology Internship

Ashley Teasdale
Clinical Psychology Doctoral Student
Email: Ashley_Teasdale@baylor.edu

Staff

Shannon Kolls
Clinic Manager
Email: Shannon_Kolls@baylor.edu

Cheryl Wade
Administrative Associate
Email: Cheryl_Wade@baylor.edu

Pam Weatherman
Graduate Program Coordinator
Email: Pam_Weatherman@baylor.edu

Larry Umberger
Laboratory Assistant, American Sign Language
B.A., Gallaudet University
Email: Larry_Umberger@baylor.edu