Baylor University
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Robbins College of Health and Human Sciences

Baylor > CSD > Faculty/Staff

Faculty/Staff

The Faculty in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders offer a wealth of academic expertise combined with real world experience. They bring to the classroom and clinic an extensive knowledge base and are dedicated to keeping pace with the latest trends and innovations. The Faculty takes pride in quality teaching and providing individual attention to their students.

The Academic and Clinical Faculty have over 100 years of combined clinical experience with an average of over 20 years of experience per faculty member. This enhances their ability to apply basic science information to real life situations and may play a role in the fact that Baylor is highly recognized for its excellence as a clinical training program.



Academic Faculty

Michaela Ritter, Ed.D.
Chair
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ed.D., Baylor University
Email: Michaela_ Ritter@baylor.edu

Paul Blanchet, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., Louisiana State University
Email: Paul_Blanchet@baylor.edu

Paul Fillmore, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
Email: Paul_Fillmore@baylor.edu

J. David Garrett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Email: David_Garrett@baylor.edu

Jeanne Dodd Murphy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Email: Jeanne_Murphy@baylor.edu

Jungjun Park, Ph.D.
Graduate Program Director
Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of Florida
Email: Jungjun_Park@baylor.edu

Kathy A. Whipple, Ph.D.
Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ph.D., University of Memphis
Email: Kathy_Whipple@baylor.edu

Clinical Faculty

Carrie Drew, Au.D.
Lecturer, Audiologist, Clinical Supervisor
Au.D. A.T. Still University of Health Sciences
Email: Carrie_Drew@baylor.edu

Donna Powell, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Donna_Powell@baylor.

Deborah Rainer, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Coordinator
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Deborah_Rainer@baylor.edu

Hollie Sammons, M.S.
Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., University of Texas at Dallas
Email: Hollie_Sammons@baylor.edu

Susan Sherman, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., University of Wyoming
Email: Susan_Sherman@baylor.edu

Janice Stewart, M.S.
Senior Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Janice_Stewart@baylor.edu

Melony Cannon, M.S.
Part-Time Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., Radford University
Email: Melony_Cannon@baylor.edu

Jana Parker, M.S.
Part-Time Lecturer, Speech-Language Pathologist, Clinical Supervisor
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Jana_Parker@baylor.edu

Sign Language / Deaf Education Faculty

Lori Wrzesinski, M.S.
Senior Lecturer of American Sign Language
M.S., Baylor University
Email: Lori_Wrzesinski@baylor.edu

Lewis Lummer
, Ed.D.
Lecturer in American Sign Language and Deaf Education
Ed.D., Northern Illinois University
Email: Lewis_Lummer@baylor.edu

Marnie Abrahams, M.A.
Lecturer in American Sign Language
M.A., Hardin Simmons University
Email: Marnie_Abrahams@baylor.edu

Language and Literacy Faculty

Bridgitt Horner
Part-time Lecturer, Reading Specialist
M.A.T., Dallas Baptist University
Email: Bridgitt_Horner@baylor.edu

Edwina Nelson
Senior Lecturer, Reading Specialist
M.A.T., Dallas Baptist University
Email: Edwina_Nelson@baylor.edu

Katy Reynolds
Part-time Lecturer, Reading Specialist
M.A.T., Dallas Baptist University
Email: Katy_Reynolds@baylor.edu

Psychology Faculty

Stephanie Jernigan
B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Psychology Doctoral Student
Email: S_Jernigan@baylor.edu

Staff

Kathryn Williams
Manager, CSD
B.B.A., Baylor University
Email: Kathryn_Williams@baylor.edu

Cheryl Wade
Clinical Administrative Associate
Email: Cheryl_Wade@baylor.edu

Larry Umberger
Laboratory Assistant, Sign Language
B.A., Gallaudet University
Email: Larry_Umberger@baylor.edu