Baylor Round Table
Thanksgiving Dinner
Honoring the
International Community
6:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 11, 2004
Barfield Drawing Room
Bill Daniel Student Center

The annual Thanksgiving Dinner was a big success. The room was decorated in the Thanksgiving motif, with horns of plenty and fresh fruit as table centerpieces.

Martha Lou Scott, President, Baylor Round Table, welcomed the members and international guests. She gave a brief history of the Thanksgiving celebration in the United States.

International Students who gave blessings in their native languages were Dol Craig (Mongolia), In Seo Song (Korea), and Edgardo Mitchell (Colombia).

A buffet dinner was served, featuring all the traditional Thanksgiving foods. The ARA food service provided the turkey and dressing as well as pecan and pumpkin pie. The vegetables and salads were provided by Round Table members. All of the food was delicious, and it seems that the students enjoyed it as they ate all the various foods, including the pumpkin pie!

Following dinner Dr. Robert Sloan, President of Baylor University, greeted the members and guests. Memorial tributes were read for Daphne Herring (by Rita Patteson) and Dottie Mathews (by Wanda LeMaster). Both long-time members of Round Table died in 2004 after lengthy illnesses. They will be greatly missed.

Beautiful music was provided by International Students Esteban Alvarez (Costa Rica), Erudice Alvarez (Honduras), and Sinthia Perez (Puerto Rico). Playing piano, harp, and clarinet solos and duets, the students performed a variety of pieces, including a popular folk tune from Mexico during which they asked the audience to participate.

Dr. William Mitchell, Director, Center for International Education, recognized the students by country. He asked the students to stand and be applauded, which was a departure from the previous dinners when the students were asked to line up around the room.

Martha Lou Scott expressed thanks to Dr. and Mrs. Sloan for their support of international students; to Betty Ruth Baker and her students for child care; to Terri Devore who designed the program; and to the committee members: Julie Pickle, chair; Rita Abercrombie, Cheryl Allen, Cyndie Burgess, Stacy Howard, Dodie Jackson, Cindie

Lehr, Laura Davalos-Lind, Liz Palacious, Ruth Pitts, Barbara Santos, Dorothy Schleicher, Jane Sternberg, and Claude Valahu.
Martha Lou Scott gave closing remarks and led in the singing of "Come, Ye Thankful People Come."
Respectfully submitted,
Martha Lou Scott, President

Maxine B. Hart, Recording Secretary