

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (May 5, 2016)

COMPETITION WINNERS TO PERFORM IN DALLAS GALA

Winners of Baylor University's Semper Pro Musica Competition will be celebrated on Thursday, May 26, during a gala recital at Highland Park United Methodist Church in Dallas. This event, the first-annual Winners Recital of the Semper Pro Musica Solo and Chamber Music Competition, will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the church's sanctuary at 3300 Mockingbird Lane. More than seventy students participated in the First Round of the 2015-16 competition, and the Final Round was held in Waco on February 27, 2016. The nineteen competitors who advanced through the Final Round have the distinct honor of performing in this Winners Recital in Dallas.

Opening the program will be saxophonist Chandler Davis, who (along with pianist Cameron Hofmann) will perform Jacques Ibert's *Concertino da Camera*. That will be followed by trombonist Jared Dickerson (and pianist Alexander Kostadinov) with *Piece in E-flat minor* by Joseph-Guy Ropartz. Another work by Ibert, *Quatre chansons de Don Quichotte*, will be sung by bass-baritone Andrew Eaton (with pianist Sara Steele). Violinist Mia Orosco (and pianist Alexander Kostadinov) will perform the first movement from the *Violin Concerto in D minor* of Jean Sibelius. Also to be heard is *Klonos* by Piet Swerts, as played by saxophonist Spencer Sosnowski (with the assistance of pianist Cameron Hofmann). Pianist Bonnie Wang will close the solo portion of the Winners Recital with *Chaconne* by Sofia Gubaidulina.

A group called Lagan Percussion—Ricky Bracamontes, Taylor Davis, James Ferris, and Daniel Strange—will begin the chamber music segment with *Third Construction* by John Cage. That will be followed by the Morpheme Saxophone Quartet—Spencer Sosnowski, Patrick Lenz, Millie McInnis, and Mitchell Brackett—and their performance of *Memory* by Mercelo Zarvos. Closing the program will be the opening movement from the *Quintet No. 2 in G minor* by Johannes Brahms, as played by the URSA String Quintet—violinists Eric Bowser and Emily Owens, violists Ricardo Gómez and Tracie Walker, and cellist Christopher Bedoya.

This Winners Recital is free of charge and open to the public, and a dessert reception will follow the performance. For more information, call the Baylor School of Music at 254-710-3991.