Southwest Speaker Exchange

CHEMISTRY SPEAKERS AND GRADUATE-LEVEL TOPICS 2017

Baylor University

Speakers should be contacted directly. Email addresses are given for each speaker, and the department address/phone number is as follows:

Department of Chemistry
Baylor University
One Bear Place #97348
Waco, TX 76798
Phone:254-710-3311
FAX:254-710-4272


Darrin J. Bellert
E-mail: Darrin_Bellert@baylor.edu

Research

An Experimental Study of the Kinetics and Dynamics of Metal Ion Assisted C-C and C-H Bond Activation at Low Internal Energies
C. Kevin Chambliss
E-mail: Kevin_Chambliss@baylor.edu

Research

  • Redox-Switchable Metal Complexes in Analytical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceuticals and Personal Care Products in Fish. Novel Screening Methods and Results of a National Pilot Study in the U.S.
  • Compositional Analysis of Biomass Feedstocks and Process Streams. The Role of Analytical Chemistry in Biomass-to-Ethanol Conversion
Patrick J. Farmer
E-mail: Patrick_Farmer@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Reactive sulfur species involved in oxidative stress: Friend or Foe in the realm of sulfur chemical biology
  • Cu Ionophores that induce rapid apoptosis in melanoma cell culture
Charles M. Garner
E-mail: Charles_Garner@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Capillary Gas Chromatography: What You Can Do With 200,000 Theoretical Plates in Research and Teaching
  • New Nitrogen and Phosphorus Ligands - Pyrazolylpyridines and the First C2-Chiral Phosphinine
  • Structural Studies and Synthetic Applications of Internally Coordinated Chiral Organoboranes
  • Simple Compounds with Unexpected Properties: Organic Gelling Agents
Robert Kane
E-mail: Bob_Kane@baylor.edu

Research

  • The Organic Chemistry of Fresh Flesh
  • Hedging our bets: Suppressing or Stimulating Immune Responses Using Organic Synthesis
Sung-Joon Kim
E-mail: Sung_J_Kim@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Screening and Characterization of High Affinity ssDNA Aptamers against Anthrax
Kevin K. Klausmeyer
E-mail: Kevin_Klausmeyer@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Coordination chemistry and reactivity of pyridyl containing phosphinites and phosphonites
Carlos E. Manzanares
E-mail: Carlos_Manzanares@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Atmospheric Chemistry Linked to Visible Light Absorption
  • Planetary atmospheres: Spectroscopy and reactivity in cryogenic liquids
Kevin G. Pinney
E-mail: Kevin_Pinney@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Targeting the Tumor Microenvironment: Small- Molecule, Tubulin Binidng, Vascular Disrupting Agents as Anti- Cancer Therapeutics
  • Targeting Tumor Hypoxia with Prodrug Conjugates of Potent Small- Molecule Inhibitors of Tubulin Polymerization
Bryan F. Shaw
E-mail: Bryan_Shaw@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Developing drug therapies for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
  • Why do some metallo-proteins regulate their net charge during metal binding?
  • Understanding how electrostatic surface potentials affect the rate of hydrogen-deuterium exchange in proteins.
  • Developing chemical tools to bridge proteomics and structural biology.
Mary Lynn Trawick
E-mail: Mary_Lynn_Trawick@baylor.edu

Research Group

  • Specificity and Inhibition of Gamma-Glutamylamine Cyclotransferase