Baylor University
Chemistry and Biochemistry
College of Arts and Sciences

Baylor > Chemistry > Southwest Speaker Exchange
Southwest Speaker Exchange

CHEMISTRY SPEAKERS AND GRADUATE-LEVEL TOPICS 2010/2011

Baylor University

Speakers should be contacted directly. Email addresses are given for each speaker, and the department address/phone number is as follows:

Department of Chemistry
Baylor University
One Bear Place #97348
Waco, TX 76798
Phone:254-710-3311
FAX:254-710-4272


Darrin J. Bellert
E-mail: Darrin_Bellert@baylor.edu
Research Group
  • An Experimental Study of the Kinetics and Dynamics of Metal Ion Assisted CC and CH Bond Activation at Low Internal Energies

C. Kevin Chambliss
E-mail: Kevin_Chambliss@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • Redox-Switchable Metal Complexes in Analytical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceuticals and Personal Care Products in Fish. Novel Screening Methods and Results of a National Pilot Study in the U.S.
  • Compositional Analysis of Biomass Feedstocks and Process Streams. The Role of Analytical Chemistry in Biomass-to-Ethanol Conversion

Patrick J. Farmer
E-mail: Patrick_Farmer@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • The Biocoordination chemistry of HNO: from Warren Roper to Hemoglobin
  • The Mysteries of Melanin
  • Targeting Melanoma with Metal-based Drugs
  • Photochemistry of Dithiomaltol Complexes: redox reaction of dark excited states

Charles M. Garner
E-mail: Charles_Garner@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • Capillary Gas Chromatography: What You Can Do With 200,000 Theoretical Plates in Research and Teaching
  • New Nitrogen and Phosphorus Ligands - Pyrazolylpyridines and the First C2-Chiral Phosphinine
  • Structural Studies and Synthetic Applications of Internally Coordinated Chiral Organoboranes
  • Simple Compounds with Unexpected Properties: Organic Gelling Agents

C. Alton Hassell
E-mail: Alton_Hassell@baylor.edu

  • 252Cf Plasma Desorption Mass Spectrometry - Boiling Molecules by Nuclear Energy

Robert Kane
E-mail: Bob_Kane@baylor.edu

  • The Organic Chemistry of Fresh Flesh
  • Hedging our bets: Suppressing or Stimulating Immune Responses Using Organic Synthesis

Sung-Kun Kim
E-mail: Sung-Kun_Kim@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • Screening and Characterization of High Affinity ssDNA Aptamers against Anthrax

Kevin K. Klausmeyer
E-mail: Kevin_Klausmeyer@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • Coordination chemistry and reactivity of pyridyl containing phosphinites and phosphonites

Carlos E. Manzanares
E-mail: Carlos_Manzanares@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • Atmospheric Chemistry Linked to Visible Light Absorption
  • Planetary atmospheres: Spectroscopy and reactivity in cryogenic liquids

John A. Olson
E-mail: John_Olson@baylor.edu

  • A Chemist's View of Surface Chemistry
  • The P's and Q's of Model Construction
  • Recent Developments in DIM: An Approximate Polyatomics in Molecule Treatment for Electron Transfer Reactions and/or a Second Quantized Form for Approximate Dynamical Treatments

Kevin G. Pinney
E-mail: Kevin_Pinney@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • The Discovery and Development of Vascular Disrupting Agents (VDAs) for Cancer Chemotherapy and the Treatment of Related Vascular Specific Diseases

Bryan F. Shaw
E-mail: Bryan_Shaw@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • Developing drug therapies for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
  • Why do some metallo-proteins regulate their net charge during metal binding?
  • Understanding how electrostatic surface potentials affect the rate of hydrogen-deuterium exchange in proteins.
  • Developing chemical tools to bridge proteomics and structural biology.

Mary Lynn Trawick
E-mail: Mary_Lynn_Trawick@baylor.edu
Research Group

  • Specificity and Inhibition of Gamma-Glutamylamine Cyclotransferase


Department of Chemistry