Hearn Innovators Series

The Hearn Innovators in Christian Music Series, made possible by an endowment created through the generosity of Billy Ray Hearn, is designed to bring innovators in the field of Christian Music to Baylor's campus and facilitate close interaction between the guest and Baylor's students. These special visitors may be involved in the practice, creation, or study of Christian Music. Presenters are on campus for a three to four day residency and are available to speak in classes, make public presentations, and visit with students in small group settings. This year's guests are Chuck Fromm (Fall) and Zac Hicks (Spring).

Dr. Chuck Fromm holds a PhD from the School of Intercultural Studies at Fuller Theological Seminary. He is currently the publisher and founder of Worship Leader magazine, Song Discovery, and National Worship Leader Conference; serves on the Harvest Christian Fellowship BOD (1989 to present); and is the professor and guest lecturer at several Universities and colleges including USC (Annenberg School of Communications and Journalism), Liberty University, Fuller Theological Seminary, Biola, Princeton, Azusa Pacific, and MIT (panelist at “Future of Music Entertainment”).

As Pastor/President of Maranatha! Music for 25 years (1974-1999), Dr. Fromm produced several artist and concept records including The Praise Series, Psalms Alive, Kids Praise, Colours, Hymns and Choruses, and Words of Worship. His leadership at Maranatha! Music was rewarded with a Lifetime Achievement Award from GMA in 1990, President’s award from the NRB in 1991, and a Grammy Award for Best Album for Children (A Cappella Kids) in 1992 .

Dr. Fromm founded the Worship Times journal in 1985. With the goal to expand the scope and reach of Worship Times Journal, Dr. Fromm created Worship Leader magazine in 1991. Song Discovery was added to the magazine subscription in 1997 to continue Dr. Fromm’s life mission to bring New Song to the church. In 2007 he pulled together the first National Worship Leader Conference to bring the pages of the culturally-influential magazine to life! The National Worship Leader Conference creates a space where leaders from all tribes can engage with God and each other, and refocus on their call as they pursue the mission of God in worship.

Zac Hicks (D.Min. candidate, Knox Theological Seminary; M.Div., Denver Seminary; B.A., Biola University) is Canon of Worship & Liturgy at Church of the Advent in Birmingham, AL, blogger at zachicks.com, and author of The Worship Pastor (Zondervan, forthcoming October 2016). He grew up in Hawaii, studied music in Los Angeles, trained in Philosophy and Biblical Studies at Denver Seminary, and his current doctoral work is in the theology and worship of the English Reformation. Zac's passions include exploring the intersection of old and new in worship and thinking through the pastoral dimention of worship leading.  He is a songwriter, having recorded and produced six albums to date. Zac has contributed articles and posts to Worship Leader Magazine, Reformed Worship, The Gospel Coalition, and Doxology & Theology.  
Zac has been married for fifteen years to his wife, Abby, and they have four children—Joel, Jesse, Brody, and Bronwyn.

Past Innovators Include:

Spring 2016: Kevin Twitt
Fall 2015: Bill Gaither
Spring 2015: Sandra McCracken
Fall 2014: Dennis Worley
Spring 2014: Travis Cottrell
Fall 2013: Andrew Peterson
Spring 2013: Marcia McFee
Spring 2012: Karen Ward
Fall 2011: Ken Medema
Spring 2011: Gloria Gaither
Fall 2010: David Crowder
Spring 2010: John Bell
Spring 2009: Pablo Sosa
Spring 2008: Keith Getty

Watch Video