2017 Participants

Caitríona O’Reilly

O Reilly

Caitríona O’Reilly grew up in Wicklow and Dublin, Ireland, and earned a bachelor’s degree and a PhD from Trinity College Dublin, where she wrote her doctoral thesis on American literature. O’Reilly also held the Harper-Wood Studentship from St. John’s College, Cambridge. She has taught at Wake Forest University and the Irish Writers’ Center in Dublin.

O’Reilly’s most recent collection of poems is Geis (2015), which was chosen as one of the Best Books of 2015 by The Guardian. Her other books include The Sea Cabinet (2006), which was shortlisted for the Irish Times Poetry Now Award in 2007, and The Nowhere Birds (2001), which won the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature in 2002.

In addition to her works of poetry, O’Reilly is a freelance writer and critic. She has written for BBC Radio 4 and translated from the Galician of María do Cebreiro, as well as publishing fiction. She also has collaborated with artist Isabel Nolan on a creative project, was a contributing editor of the Irish poetry journal Metre, and edited several issues of Poetry Ireland Review.

Micheal O’Siadhail


Micheal O’Siadhail (pronounced mee-hall oh sheel) was educated at Clongowes Wood College, Trinity College Dublin, and the University of Oslo. He was writer-in-residence at the Yeats International Summer School in 1991 and has been a lecturer at Trinity College Dublin and a professor at the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies.

A full-time writer who divides his time between Dublin and New York City, O’Siadhail has published sixteen collections of poetry, including One Crimson Thread (2015) and Collected Poems (2013). His debut collection of poetry, The Leap Year, was published in 1978. He also has written a book of essays, Say But the Word: Poetry as Vision and Voice (2015). Among his many academic works are Learning Irish (1988) and Modern Irish (1989). His volume Five Quintets will be published in 2018.

O’Siadhail was awarded an Irish American Cultural Institute prize for poetry in 1982 and the Marten Toonder Prize for Literature in 1998. He represented Ireland at the Poetry Society’s European Poetry Festival in London in 1981 and at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 1997.

A founding member of Aosdána, an honorary academy of 250 Irish artists, and a former editor of Poetry Ireland Review, O’Siadhail also was a member of the Arts Council of the Republic of Ireland (1988-93) and the Advisory Committee on Cultural Relations (1989-97).

Adrian Rice


Adrian Rice was born near Belfast and raised in County Antrim, Northern Ireland. He graduated from the University of Ulster with a BA in English and Politics, and an MPhil in Anglo-Irish Literature. He now lives in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains in Hickory, North Carolina. Rice is presently a doctoral student and Research Assistant at Appalachian State University, where he also teaches for the Reading Education Program.

Rice’s most recent book of poems is Hickory Station (2015). His other collections of poetry include The Clock Flower (2012), Hickory Haiku (2010), The Mason’s Tongue (1999), which was shortlisted for the Christopher Ewart-Biggs Memorial Literary Prize and nominated for the Irish Times Prize for Poetry, and Muck Island (1990), a collaboration with Ulster artist Ross Wilson. He also has edited five anthologies of children’s poetry, art, and drama, and he plays mandolin for The Belfast Boys, an Irish traditional music duo.

In 1997, Rice received the Sir James Kilfedder Memorial Bursary for Emerging Artists. In 1999, as a recipient of the US/Ireland Exchange Bursary, he was poet-in-residence at Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory, North Carolina. He returned to Lenoir-Rhyne University as visiting writer-in-residence for 2005.

Margaret Mills Harper


Margaret Mills Harper earned a BA in classics and English from Florida State University in 1978 and an MA and PhD in English from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1981 and 1986, respectively. Since 2010, she has served as Glucksman Professor in Contemporary Writing in English at the University of Limerick in Ireland. In 2015, she served as an adjunct visiting professor at the Université de Lille 3 in Lille, France.

The current president of the International Yeats Society and a past director of the Yeats International Summer School, Harper is one of the premier scholars of William Butler Yeats as well as a critic of contemporary poetry. She is the author of Wisdom of Two: The Spiritual and Literary Collaboration of George and W. B. Yeats(2006) and The Aristocracy of Art in Joyce and Wolfe(1990). She is the co-editor of A Vision (1925) and A Vision (1937) as Volumes XIII (2008) and XIV (2015) of the fourteen-volume series The Collected Works of W. B. Yeats. She also has co-edited two volumes in the four-volume series Yeats’s “Vision” Papers (1992, 2001).

In 2015, Harper gave lectures in several countries as part of the Irish-government–sponsored initiative Yeats 2015, a series of events honoring and extending the goals of Yeats for Irish culture in Ireland and around the world.